Winter has arrived & crafting has suddenly become a priority

Well, I told you about my boutique endeavor. Currently, I am selling stuff in a store by the University. And I’m in the process of knitting up an order for a boutique in Duluth. I have 2 pending meetings – one in Wayzata and one in Anoka. Oh. And did I tell you about how I am doing a craft show this coming weekend? Oh dang. Things just got a bit heated up, didn’t they? I went from slow, slow, slow, to BAM! Kicking it up a knotch. I am excited, nervous, and apprehensive all at the same time. Apprehensive, because I want to keep it all together; I want to be successful without compromising my *life. Nervous, because I really do hope I can succeed.

It’s like when it snows.

You just gotta push on through.

This weekend, we had a snow storm. I always, always dread the first snow storm. It means winter is really here. Everyone loves Fall. And I do, too. But I hate the anticipation of winter. Fall=beauty=calm=final outside fun = waiting for winter to turn everything drab and force us all inside. I loathe waiting for winter. But when it gets here, it’s never as bad as I thought it was going to be.

Snow is white. and beautiful. and crisp. and welcomes the Cardinals in the backyard. And the rosy cheeks, and the big sweaters, and big boots, and chunky scarves, and more knitting time, and home cooking.

Sure, I love summer best of all. I always will. But when you live in Minnesota, winter is like ****HOME****. Don’t tell anyone I admitted that, mmkay? Because I kinda have a reputation for dissing the midwest and its winters.

Anyway, here’s a lowdown of what I did during this snowstorm:

Oh burrrrrrr…….


Let me in…

F (my son) had a brilliant idea to make biscuits. From scratch. (with cinnamon & sugar sprinkles)

L (my daughter) decided to play outside. (she was the only one) (oh, except the dogs)


And she decided to take all of the hats I found in the *winter box* and put them on. (and top it off with daddy’s cap)

Then, I made homemade pizza. (winter is for lots of carbs!)

On Sunday, L sang at church. (We’re not real church goers, but L is in Sunday school and they had a special signing part of the Sunday school kids.) (SOooo cute)

Then, we went to Caribou and got yummy treats.

And, that’s all. Weekend is over. back to the daily grind….Only this time, I gotta drive in the snow. Poo.

p.s. Want my awesome pizza dough & biscuit recipes?
Dough:
2 c all purpose flour
2 c wheat flour
1/4 c oil
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/3 c warm h20
packet of yeast
put in bread machine (is that cheating?) in order determined by manufacturer (my machine takes all fluid first, and adds dry stuff with yeast last)

Biscuits
1. preheat oven to 375
2. mix 3 c flour, 1tbsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp baking soda
3. cut 1 1/2 sticks of soft butter and mix with flour mixture
4. mix in 1 1/2 c buttermilk
5. roll out dough and cut using a cup (to make circles), sprinkle with cinnamon & sugar
6. bake for 15 minutes.
PURE YUMNESS!!!!!
(oh and p.s. the kids can do all the work. seriously.)

3 responses to “Winter has arrived & crafting has suddenly become a priority

  1. Gilda – I am sooooooo impressed by your tenacity! Way to make something wonderful out of life! You inspire me, girl!

  2. Home ……….is where my family is………
    Love
    dm

  3. Thank goodness the storm hit on a weekend…otherwise it would have been an ubermess!!!!! It’s the driving tat stresses me.

    dm

Leave a Reply

