are you a scraper?

I believe there are two kinds of people in this world.  The ones that don’t scrape and the ones that do.  By scrape I mean scrape the car, you know, after a snowfall.  Or, if you’re a meticulous scraper, during the snowfall.  Today, when I came out of the grocery store and it had been snowing while I was in there, just a sprinkle of snow, nothing a few wipes with the windshield blades couldn’t take care of, everyone was out scraping their cars, nodding to each other.  Engines were running and you could hear the stereos blasting from within the shut windows and doors.  Perhaps it was because the temp rose above 10 degrees during the snowfall, I don’t know, but I really didn’t think all this scraping was necessary.  I smiled though, and then to fit in I decided to kick the snow accumulation on the back of my bumper, just above the tires.  You know, that really gross, icky, polluted, nasty snow.  Ugh.  Just the thought of it sitting there rusting my bumper gives me the heebies, but I never take the time to kick it off, because, well, I am lazy.  But today was different.  I approached the brown stuff, coordinated my eyes with my legs, and swooped my foot – bam! – right into it.  Uck splattered everywhere, even into my mouth, my eyes, my jacket, and my daughter’s hair (she was a witness to this).  Why had I not considered this outcome?  Why did I then feel as though everyone was staring at me, thinking ‘why didn’t you just scrape like the rest of us?’  Why?

2 responses to “are you a scraper?

  1. i’m not a scraper but i’m a kicker. always have to kick the clumps around the tires. addictive.

Leave a Reply

