this one deserves some home cooked soup.

Tonight was the first night I ever cooked with leeks.  I had to look up on you tube how to cut them.  Did you know they grow in the sand and so you need to slice them in half to almost the end of the root and fan them out while under running water so you can get all of the grit out? Quite interesting, eh?

Well, I cute them into 1 inch slices and sauteed in some oil while I cut the potatoes and butternut squash into cubes.

Next, I put in half a package of bacon that I sliced thinly.

Then, I threw the prepared potatoes and squash in to saute as well, with a few pinches of thyme, salt, and pepper.

After everything seemed a bit softened (and my house smelled uber yummy), I poured in 2 cans of broth.

I let it simmer, covered, for about 20 minutes – until all of the veggies were soft and easy to mash – while I baked some garlic bread sticks.

Then, I mashed it with a potato masher, poured in a cup of half and half, let sit for one minute and served with the bread sticks.

Voila, my darlings.  Winter Vegetable Chowder (with bacon).  (per savingdinner.com)

ETA: I am taking back the camera.  Why am I so impulsive?  I should save the gift cards for gardening supplies in the spring & summer.  We’ll see, they’re just burning a hole in my pocket.

One response to “this one deserves some home cooked soup.

  1. I plan on trying this tonight although I don’t think I will mash it. I like the texture of chunk vegatables. I have never sooked leeks.

    Did you like them?

    Love
    dm

Leave a Reply

