’tis the season.

‘Tis the season.  Our bathroom was supposed to be finished by Christmas eve, but, of course, it wasn’t (they didn’t even work that week and so I have no updated photos. sorry.).  Even though I had told the workers I planned on having the children’s festivities in the basement and they had said ‘don’t worry, if we aren’t finished we’ll make sure it’s kid proof.’  But, of course, they didn’t.  I didn’t let that dampen my spirits and I just cleaned around their stinkin’ mess and gated away their tools.  Yet, despite my holiday glee, I found every reason to show off the shitty job so I’d have some justification to bitch at them on Monday.  Monday is in two days, we’ll see if I am brave enough or if I chicken out and have my dh do it.

Anyway, yes, the holiday glee was in full swang.  My mom is in Florida, woe is me, and she usually takes charge of the event.  With her so far away, we made it a joint effort; my brothers and me and my dad had a potluck (which, by the way, my dad told me he didn’t know what a potluck was. Umm, I think he must’ve been kidding.)  We had pizza bread (our family tradition), lasagna, cookies galore, banana cream and apple pies, pinwheels, oysters, crackers and cheese, and I just realized that our sole vegetable that evening was spinach dip.  Ha.

Oh, but it almost didn’t happen, because Christmas eve was the peak of our winter storm, thank you very much mother earth.  And it’s still snowing as I write.  Craziness.  Total wet snow.  See, we’re used to dry snow here, but this is wet, heavy, snowman making snow.  Yet, can you believe I didn’t get a picture of the half made snowman my kids left out in the yard?

All was good though, because my dad told me and I thus told the kids that the more snow, the faster santa is.  I mean, makes perfect sense, right?  Santa drives a sleigh.  You can’t drive a fast sleigh without lots and lots of snow.

Let me just say, I love the santa lie.  I am always conflicted around this time of year about whether I should just straight out tell the kids there’s no such guy, but the cuteness of it all just conquers those thoughts.  I mean, the anticipation is so exciting, even for me, even though I know THE TRUTH.  Check out this picture of my dd and nieces looking out the window for santa; they said they even heard jingle bells!

As you can tell, we celebrate both Hanukkah and Christmas, which can be quite the conundrum, but somehow we work it out.  I’m lucky that my dh does the santa thing, because (in his own words) he loves me very, very much.  Let’s just put it this way, I aint ever giving up santa.  Santa will come even after the kids are in college.  😀

Yet, I am always so ashamed every year by how much we go overboard with gifts.  I wish I didn’t feed into the consumerism of Christmas.  I did try and regift, give reused or homemade, but still, it’s quite overwhelming at Christmas.  There’s just so much pressure for it to be perfect.  And yes, it was perfect alright, but I have been pondering my upcoming New years resolution and it’s this: beginning January 1, 2010, I vow to only buy and give homemade, reused, and recycled for gifts, my home, and my wardrobe.  It’s called the utmost challenge and I got the idea from a blog I’ve been reading.  Check it out.  My other resolution is going to be to lose all this baby weight that is almost 4 years old (my dd turns 4 in January.  I mean, I can hardly call it baby weight anymore, ya know.)

Anyhooo, dear blog readers, here are some pictures from my Christmas:

Hope you had a good one, too.

One response to “’tis the season.

  1. You have no idea just how much I missed all of you this Christmas.

    It looks like you all had a wonderful time.

    I love you!!!!!!! Your pizza bread was better than mine, per your db.

    Love
    dm

Leave a Reply

