sun dried tomatoes

During the summer, I was worried I wouldn’t have enough tomatoes.  But alas, in came the end of summer.  Since I plucked all of the green ones and let them ripen on the counter, I’ve run out of things to make with them.  I already made 2 batches of salsa.  So, I decided to sun ripen them.

The sun hasn’t been out and it is freeeezing, so I did it the oven method.

I cut the tomatoes in half, placed cut side up on a baking sheet, sprinkled with kosher salt, and baked at 200 degrees for 5 hours (it can take up to 12 hours, but since I had little ones, it didn’t take as long).

DSCF3186DSCF3188DSCF3194

That many tomatoes made just enough for half a sandwich baggie.  They store indefinitely, but I have plans for them for Thanksgiving, so stay tuned…

Leave a Reply

