Halloween

Halloween was spookily busy for me.  Because this is my blog and kinda like my diary, I am going to give you an outline of my day:

Woke up at 6:45 am, yikes.  Went to water aerobics (see, I really do work out…sometimes), where I was the youngest by at least 20 or 30 years.  And that doesn’t bother me at all, because then I feel real good about myself if I can keep up.  I also feel kinda cute in my bathing suit.  😉  Went home and picked up dd, brought her to ballet, where I tried to sneak in some knitting time.  After that, we went to Target to get halloween candy, because you can never have enough.  Why is that?  But of course, I got distracted and ended up buying a week’s worth of groceries and some treats for our friends for later.  Remind me never to shop at Target, I spend my life savings at that store every time I walk in.

Then, we went to a surprise party for this really, really funny girl I know, which also happened to be a kids halloween dress up party.  My ds hid in the basement and ate their Schmorgasborg of food/candy while we all hid out upstairs waiting for my friend to get there so we could jump out and say surprise.  By the time we left, he said he was gonna throw up.  I’m like, “kid, pace yourself, it’s halloween.”

We had cake outside, where the kids jumped in the leaves.  Why didn’t I think of this cheap/exhausting/fun activity for kids?  I mean, I know that’s what people do; pile up the leaves and jump in them, but I am always afraid of the leaves going everywhere again and having to re-rake (but my dh would probably say, “do you rake anyway?”).  I was surprised the kids loved it so much.  I mean, they could have done it for hours and hours and hours.  And I would have been fine with that, but we had other shizzle to do.

14738_172258877815_600142815_3440894_6292906_n14738_172260567815_600142815_3440902_4526837_n14738_172258862815_600142815_3440892_6034662_n

On our way out, I gave my friend her gift, which was the knitted peace sign washcloth but it was wrapped in a peach detox tea box.  She didn’t open it at first, because she thought it was the tea that was her gift.  She said she would have loved the tea, too.  But me and my damn big mouth said, “you can’t have it anyway, because pregnant people can’t have it.”  And she said, “I’m not pregnant.”  I think my heart fell into the pit of my stomach, because of all the secrets that you can spill, this would be the worst.  And I did it in front of everyone she knew!  OMG!!!!  I was having a freak attack for the rest of the day.  I’ll tell you what happened in a minizule…

Next, we went to my friend Laura’s for some pumpkin pinata fun…

DSCF3100DSCF3101DSCF3105DSCF3108

Fun, fun, fun!  We could have stayed there all day, but we had to get home and get our house ready for the evening.  A friend of my ds and his mom were coming out trick or treating with us.  I’d never met either of them before so I had to tidy up a bit before they came over.  And we had to get our costumes all finalized.  Here they are:

DSCF3090DSCF3111

In the mean time, I emailed my friend asking her who invited the big mouth and she replied it was no big deal.  So, whew, but I think she had been messing with me and I just didn’t stick around to find out the joke was on me.

When my ds’s friend and his mom got here, the first thing she said to me was, “awww, you’re expecting?”  and I just thought, ‘you know, karma’s a bitch.’  (cuz I am NOT expecting!!)

Anyway, the kids got candy galore.  Here they are post trick or treating:

DSCF3120

After the friend and his mom left, we had a mini movie theatre in my room with popcorn and all.  After the kids went to bed, I managed to fit in a little more knitting time while we handed out the last of the candy  to the stragglers and finished my latest project.  Here it is:

DSCF3133

(here’s the pattern, even though mine looks nothing like the pattern. http://www.lionbrand.com/patterns/50722-2.html?noImages=0)

When I say momma rocks, I mean it.  riiighhht?  right.

AND I got an extra hour in bed this mornin’ to cuddle with my man (daylight savings! don’t forget).  woot woot.

 

One response to “Halloween

  1. You are awesome……

    DS looks kinda ethnic!

    You are a riot DD…I love ya!!!!!

Leave a Reply

