Time for grocery action…

I haven’t posted pics of my groceries for y’all in a while.  And who knows, maybe you think it’s weird.  For some reason, I really like documenting what I buy every week.  And now that I am reading The Gorgeously Green Diet, I feel the need to be super duper aware (how to live lean and green).  Oh, and if you haven’t read it, you should.  Makes the whole buying organic vs. non-organic make sense.

So, here are my groceries for the week: 94.00.  enjoy…..

DSCF1984

p.s. one thing I’ve been trying to add to my daily diet/routine is a glass of lemon water every morning.  It’s supposed to flush out the system, especially the liver.  Hmm, you learn somn’ everyday.  and how easy is that!

4 responses to “Time for grocery action…

  1. you still amaze me with your frugal grocery shopping. i can’t see details of the picture. what fruits/veggies did you buy? organic? what meals for the week? teach me!!!!!!

    • hearts.
      This is what I got:
      2 things of pita bread, lettuce, avocados, sprouts, hummus, feta, tomatoes for sandwiches and salads.
      2 things of tortillas and cheese.
      for big meals: tilapia. noodles (spinach & herb), sauce. rice. soy chorizo and beans for chili (I know it’s summer, but I’m having a craving), soy italian sausage (used 1/2 yesterday for a zucchini and rice dish and tonight used 1/2 for a pasta w/sundried tomato pesto dish)
      dried peaches and watermelon. lemons. (I still have strawberries from berry picking)
      snacks: cookies, maringues :), granola bars, chips, salsa, TJs fake cheetos, cottage cheese, dark chocolate!!!
      flour – for baking needs :):):) (maybe I’ll bake some bread for you soon)
      celery, carrots, greek yogurt (will make dip for veggies)
      special treat for dh: rice pudding
      we still have bagels & cream cheese, eggs and waffles at home so didn’t need breakfast stuff. will get next week.
      hmmmmm, is that it? I still had a lot at home – veggie burgers, eggplant (have you seen those already prepared eggplants??), turkey meatballs, burritos….)
      what do you think? it’s not all great, but it’s not bad either….

  2. Oh, I forgot. I also got these veggie crackers. yum.
    and I think the tomatoes and watermelon are not organic. even avocados are organic. even though they’re not in my top 12 list – I accidentally grabbed them.
    OHHHHHHH! and I got some soy creamy ice cream. best thing I have ever had!!! cherry chocolate chip. so yum!
    I know I am leaving something else out…

  3. i’m just so impressed. we spend double that most of the time and its not like we eat that great. really. do we just eat that much more than you guys? how often do you eat out? do you go to the farmers market too?
    and yours doesn’t include Alan’s lunches right?

Leave a Reply

